Arteta silent over penalty call as Tuchel fumes at handball claim

Mikel Arteta refused to discuss whether Bukayo Saka should have won a penalty against Bayern Munich but Thomas Tuchel was left "really angry" by another spot-kick call.

Saka went to ground after going over Bayern goalkeeper Manuel Neuer's leg in practically the final action of the game as the Gunners were denied a last-gasp penalty which could have seen them take a slender lead to Munich next week.

The England winger was so incensed he had to be pulled away from referee Glenn Nyberg after full-time as he angrily sought an explanation why both he and the VAR official had declined to award a spot kick.

But speaking after the game, Arteta refused to comment on the decision and said he had not spoken with Nyberg himself over the incident.

"I haven't seen it," he said. "The decision is made, we cannot change that. We have to focus on other aspects we can control and that we could've done much better tonight.

"I was already looking at the other goal [when Saka first reacted], because he was down in the box and we had 10 men, the game had not finished - I was more worried about that than his reaction!"
Steve Sidwell, watching the game on Soccer Special, was more decisive in his reaction to the call and said Saka had been the one to initiate contact with the Bayern Munich goalke