Breaking News

Qatar 2022: It was not penalty – Neville fumes as Messi leads Argentina to World Cup final


Former Manchester United defender, Gary Neville, has slammed the referee’s decision to award Argentina a penalty as they beat Croatia 3-0 to reach the final of the 2022 World Cup.

Neville, speaking on ITV, said Julian Alvarez ran into goalkeeper Dominik Livakovic and it wasn’t a foul.

“The goalkeeper comes out, he makes a movement to his right, stops himself before the actual shot is meant to be taken and Alvarez just runs into him and takes his leg away. That is not a penalty.

“If I’m a defender and the striker is about to have a shot and I go to block, he then shoots, goes past me and runs into me, that can’t be a foul. You have to block the shot!”

Lionel Messi converted the eventual penalty, before setting up Alvarez to score a brace.

Argentina will now take on either France or Morocco in Sunday’s final.

No comments