De Ligt claims Linesman apologised over disallowed goal


Bayern Munich defender, Matthijs de Ligt has said that the linesman apologized to him following their 2-1 defeat to Real Madrid.

He said the linesman apologised for an error during the second leg of the Champion League semi-final.

The game ended 2-1 in favour of the Spanish giants on Wednesday night.

Alphonso Davies gave Bayern the lead with a spectacular strike in the 68th minute but the Germans could not hold their lead to the end as Joselu scored a late brace (88′, 90+1′) to seal a comeback win for the 15-time champions.

Real Madrid will now play another German Bundesliga side, Borussia Dortmund in the final.

After Joselu’s second goal, Bayern put the ball in the back of the net but the goal was ruled out as De Ligt was adjudged offside.

The Dutch defender said after the match (via Fabrizio Romano on X): “If it’s offside, it’s offside. But I think we made rules in football and the rules say if it isn’t clear offside, which it wasn’t, because I haven’t seen it yet, of course I don’t know.

“You have to keep playing. If you go in at the last minute and you whistle like this, yeah, I think it’s a big mistake….. This is a shame.”

“The linesman said to me, ‘I am sorry, I made a mistake.’ In the end, you know, I am not the type of person to blame the rules or the referee,” he added.