Breaking News

Lionel Messi Win IFFHS Player Of The Decade (2011-2020) Award


The International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) has named Lionel Messi as the best men’s player of the last decade.

The organisation polled its members from other 150 countries around the world to find the best men’s player over the last decade, including the best player for each continent.

While Cristiano Ronaldo picked up the award for the UEFA region, it was Messi who triumphed globally – as well as amongst the CONMEBOL nations.

The 33-year-old hasn’t had a bad last ten years, picking up six La Liga titles, five Copa del Rey trophies, two Champions Leagues, and four Ballon d’Ors.

Even this season, with Barcelona struggling under new manager Ronald Koeman, the Argentine has picked up 16 goals and three assists in 21 La Liga games, and four goals and two assists in five Champions League fixtures.

IFFHS best players of the decade:
The IFFHS also revealed a top ten for the award,

1. Lionel Messi
2. Cristiano Ronaldo
3. Andres Iniesta
4. Neymar
5. Sergio Ramos
6. Manuel Neuer
7. Robert Lewandowski
8. GianLugi Buffon
9. Zlatan Ibrahimovic
10. Luka Modric

No comments