Breaking News

Lewandowski to be named European Footballer of the Year as Bayern star beats De Bruyne and Neuer to top award

 The prolific Polish striker is set to be one of several figures at the Allianz Arena to have their efforts in 2019-20 recognised by UEFA

Bayern Munich striker Roberto Lewandowski will be crowned European Football of the Year for 2019-20 by UEFA, Goal and SPOX have learned.

Individual prizes will be handed out by European football’s governing body on Thursday. The cream of the crop from 2019-20 will see their efforts recognised after the group stage draw for this season’s Champions League is held in Geneva.

Bayern are the current holders of that continental crown, having swept aside all before them last term. Another treble triumph was won at the Allianz Arena, with Hansi Flick’s side also claiming Bundesliga and DFB-Pokal honours.

No comments