13 Nigeria Players Included In Arsenal Premier League Squad For 2019/2020 Season

The official website of the Premier League has released each club's squad list following the close of the European transfer window on Monday, September 2.

The 25-man squads must contain no more than 17 players who do not fulfill the "Home Grown Player" (HGP) criteria, and clubs are permitted to submit an additional list of their registered U21 players who are eligible over and above the squad limit of 25 players. 

For the sake of clarity, U21 players must be born on or after 1 January 1998, and this explains why Arsenal have as many as thirteen Nigeria-eligible starlets named in their squad. 

Goalkeepers Arthur Okonkwo and Ovie Ejeheri have been included on the Gunners list as well as defenders Tolaji Bola, Mazeed Ogungbo, Tobi Omole, Daniel Oyegoke and Joseph Olowu. 

Midfielders Miguel Azeez and James Olayinka are also named along with the attack-minded Ryan Alebiosu, Bukayo Saka, Folarin Balogun and Nathan Butler-Oyedeji.

Of the players of Nigerian descent named in the Arsenal squad, only Bukayo Saka has made his debut in the Premier League and that was against Fulham back in the 2018-19 season when he replaced Alex Iwobi in the closing minutes.